ferroustom

ahhh… the irony….

…and back to training….

Finally I seem to have kicked the lurgy. In case it’s escaped your notice it’s been raining here in the UK. A lot. So much so that I hear Jez has bought a circle of wood and cut it in half to make an arc. No I have no idea either. Anyway having been given the all clear from the doctors I figured it was time to go for a run.

I know I’ll go for a quick run around Walton and Weybridge, that’s not too far and…. oh….

Image

Walton bridge. Moist.

Right in that case, I’ll jog over to Chertsey. Snow and Rock isn’t too far from my house and I can… oh….

Image

Chertsey – anyone for open water swimming?

Right, well I’ll just go for a quick run around Shepperton, they said to ease back into it gently. It’s not that far but…. oh….

Image

Shepperton… now look this is just getting silly…

After a few days of being housebound, I made it to work, which seemed to be reasonably dry, and at lunch time, with the words “Make sure you take it easy,” echoing around my head, I set off for a run. It wasn’t particularly warm, so I decided it was probably best to run in running tights and a long sleeved running top, rather than the more traditional shorts and t-shirt.

It all went spectacularly well considering how ill I’ve been. After a couple of kilometers I found a deserted golf course and started running around it. After a few hundred meters I discovered the reason it was deserted as I slowly began to sink. At first it wasn’t too bad, but by the time I got back to the road my shoes were full of mud and water and I was running like I’d just got off a horse.

I squelched back to the office, where I had previously been told that there were showers I could use. As the office came into sight, my iPod decided the next tune it would play was ‘It’s raining men’ by the Weathergirls. I should point out that this is part of a running compilation 101 Running Songs which I’d previously bought to listen to whilst running the Portsmouth Costal Marathon as I figured they’d mostly be motivational and with a fast tempo.

I was half way through reception before I realised I was getting somewhat odd looks. I’ve previously blogged about how my Aftershokz Bluez are great, but leak sound like a sieve. I guess 6ft men with shaved heads, mincing like Louie Spence, dressed in lycra and listening to gay ballads aren’t that common in Farnborough.

Spence... manly....

Spence… A man’s man….

I briefly considered changing the track, but it was almost over and my hands were full with my clothes, pass etc. Besides, the next track would be way less camp. It had to be. How could it be any…. and then it happened. My iPod decided the next tune would be….. the theme tune to Glee – this one selected from 101 Running Songs Lap 2 (also bought for the Portsmouth Costal Marathon).

With no other option open to me, I attempted to style it out and skipped my way to the showers smiling and nodding at everyone I encountered en route. Since the run, people have been avoiding eye contact with more frequency than tube commuters with a pregnant woman.

Ah well…. wait ’til the summer when I start cycling in my trisuit….

FerrousTom over and out…..

One response to “…and back to training….

  1. Pingback: in which I probably shouldn’t be let out of the house without a carer…. | ferroustom

Leave a comment