ferroustom

ahhh… the irony….

Aftershokz Bluez – a review….

Update 14/10/2013 – After almost a year of constant abuse, being rained on, sweated on and used extremely heavily, the Aftershokz finally gave up the ghost, and the buttons on the side stopped working. It didn’t really make much difference to the every day use, apart from not being able to pause and use the voice functions on my phone.

Would I buy another pair? Definitely.

Did I have to? Well it turns out that Aftershokz come with a 2 year warranty, and when I emailed their reseller in the UK, Pinpoint Electronics, they told me to send them back, and have replaced them with a brand spanking new set of Aftershokz Bluez free of charge. Review coming soon….

Read on for the review about the AfterShokz Bluez.

 

Image

Aftershokz Bluez – Bluetooth Headphones.

When I heard that Aftershokz were releasing a Bluetooth version of their bone conduction headphones, I was interested right away. I’ve owned a set of their wired headphones for some time, and although they have their faults, most notably sound leakage and insufficient volume for listening to audiobooks whilst running close to traffic, the fact that you could listen to music, podcasts etc whilst exercising and still hear ambient noise was a winner for me. They are also way more comfortable than standard in ear phones for longer period as they sit on the skin.

Anyway, enough about the Aftershokz Sportz, on to the Aftershokz Bluez. Similarly to the Sportz, the Bluez wrap around the head, and the bone conduction plates make contact with your  skin just in front on your ears. A soft rubber band holds the hard plastic slightly away from your head, and absorbs shock when running etc. They also contain a tiny microphone, so can function as a bluetooth headset.

Image

A small button the the right ‘bud’ mutes the playback. A small button on the left activates voice dial (or Siri if you have an iPhone).

Image

Charging is handled by a micro USB on the underneath of the headband which is covered to prevent rain ingress. To the side of that are volume control buttons. Holding down volume down will skip a track back, similarly holding down volume up will skip forward a track.

Image

So basic functionality aside, are they any good?

I currently use a 6th Gen iPod nano to listen to whilst running, but this doesn’t support Bluetooth, so I got myself a Kokkia i10s. This nifty little (tiny) device plugs into the bottom of the iPod and enables Bluetooth support. So Bluetoothed up, I went for a run.

The sound quality is slightly better that the Sportz (in my opinion), and the volume limit is much higher, to the point of being uncomfortable at maximum volume. You are never going to get super high fidelity from a set of headphones like this, but they do sound surprisingly good, and the extra volume really helped whilst listening to audiobooks downloaded from Audible, which seem to be on the quiet side – a problem the wired Aftershokz had whilst running close to the road etc.

I clipped the iPod to the back of my running cap (as I usually do), so the distance between iPod and the headphones was small, but connectivity was rock solid. After finishing the (one hour) run, however, the battery on my iPod was almost completely drained. I suppose it’s fair enough, considering the fact that it was never designed to power a transmitter, but that wasn’t going to cut it for long distance running / cycling, so I bit the bullet and bought an iPod nano 7th gen which has Bluetooth built in, and apparently will run for around 7 hours whilst transmitting. Perfect for the Portsmouth Costal marathon.

I’m still looking for an elegant way to carry the iPod, but for the race, I used a key holder I bought from Sports Direct for a couple of quid clipped on to my number belt. The only problem is that the key holder was a little too small, and for the first mile or so until I figured out what was happening I kept inadvertently pausing the iPod (which appears to happen when you press in between the up and down volume buttons on the side). Once I’d cracked this, I was laughing.

There was more than sufficient charge in the headphones for the whole 5 hours that it took to run the marathon, and then the hour or so it took to drive home. The Aftershokz sales guys I spoke to at the Running show (where I bought the Bluez) claimed around 7-9 hours per charge depending on how loud the volume was set, and that really is realistic. Pretty amazing considering the size and weight. The ability to be able to skip forward/backward a track without messing around with the iPod itself is really useful too, especially when you’re running and don’t want to stop.

Since buying the Bluez, I’ve found I’ve been using them more and more, both for listening to stuff and as a Bluetooth headset. I’m really very impressed.

So pros:

  • No wires
  • No more concerns about being able to hear (Audible.co.uk) audiobooks
  • Charge lasts long enough for even the longest run/bike ride I’m likely to do
  • You really can hear ambient noise – although you probably wouldn’t want to have a conversation with them on.
  • Easy skip/mute/volume controls

Cons:

  • Sound leakage – people around WILL be able to hear what you’re listening to.
  • Bass reproduction isn’t fantastic
  • I’ve noticed that leaving my iPhone in my trouser pocket and walking around causes micro-stuttering in the transmission occasionally. This is odd as the range seems to be very long – probably 5-6 metres at least.

3 responses to “Aftershokz Bluez – a review….

  1. Pingback: Help Bluetooth Headphones / Earphones - Recomendations ?

  2. Pingback: …and back to training…. | ferroustom

  3. Pingback: Earphones on a Treadmill...

Leave a comment